AG-elect Keith Ellison announces transition advisory committee, website

Transition advisory committee comprised of wide diversity of Minnesotans of all ages, races, professions, and life experiences; transition website now live at

November 19, 2018 (MINNEAPOLIS) — Minnesota Attorney General-elect Keith Ellison today announced the 36 members of his transition advisory committee and unveiled a new transition website.

The transition advisory committee is co-chaired by Richard Allyn and Sarah Catherine Walker. Allyn is a former Minnesota chief deputy attorney general and solicitor general, and a partner at the Minneapolis law firm Robins Kaplan. Walker is government-affairs consultant and the founder of the Minnesota Second Chance Coalition.

Committee members hail from every corner of Minnesota and from a wide diversity of ages, races, professions, and life experiences on which Attorney General-elect Ellison is excited to draw as he prepares to take office as the “People’s Lawyer” on January 7, 2019. Each committee member will serve on one of three subcommittees: budget advisory, community engagement, and recruitment.

“We are hitting the ground running,” Attorney General-elect Ellison said. “I could not be more thankful that this terrific set of people from all walks of life and regions of Minnesota have agreed to advise, support, and challenge me as I prepare to become the People’s Lawyer. This committee reflects my conviction that the office of the Attorney General is not about one person, it’s about all the people of Minnesota, no exceptions.”

“I am also grateful for the ongoing, generous cooperation of Attorney General Lori Swanson and her office during this transition period,” Ellison added.

Attorney General-elect Ellison also announced that his transition website,, is now live. People may leave a comment, submit a schedule request for Attorney General-elect Ellison, and follow transition news at this website. Those who wish to work in Attorney General-elect Ellison’s office once he takes office as Minnesota’s 30th attorney general should submit their materials by email directly to

“I invite everyone who wants to advise me on how best to be an attorney general who serves all Minnesotans, no exceptions, to leave me their thoughts and ideas on my transition website. I also ask everyone who desires to serve the public interest of the people of Minnesota in the Office of the Attorney General to send their materials directly to my transition team,” Ellison concluded.

Members of the Transition Advisory Committee

Richard Allyn, former Minnesota Chief Deputy Attorney General and Solicitor General; partner, Robins Kaplan; Transition Advisory Committee co-chair, Recruitment subcommittee chair

Sarah Catherine Walker, government-affairs consultant; founder, Minnesota Second Chance Coalition; Transition Advisory Committee co-chair, Community Engagement subcommittee chair, Recruitment committee member

Jamie Becker-Finn, Minnesota State Representative, District 42B

Bobby Joe Champion, Minnesota State Senator, District 60

John Choi, Ramsey County Attorney; former Saint Paul City Attorney

Phil Duran, legal director for healthcare access, JustUs Health; past president, Minnesota State Bar Association

Brian Elliott, executive director, SEIU Minnesota State Council

Alberder Gillespie, management consultant; board member, Common Cause Minnesota; chair, Black Civic Network

Emilia González Ávalos, executive director, NAVIGATE/Unidos MN

Emma Greenman, director of voting rights and democracy, Center for Popular Democracy and Center for Popular Democracy Action

Foung Hawj, Minnesota State Senator, District 67

Beverly Jones Heydinger, former Minnesota Deputy Attorney General; former chair, Minnesota Public Utilities Commission

Molly Hicken, Cook County Attorney, Grand Marais

Hudda Ibrahim, author, speaker, consultant; faculty, St. Cloud Technical and Community College

Burt Johnson, attorney, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters

Cheniqua Johnson, legislative assistant, Office of United States Representative Keith Ellison; co-chair, Worthington International Festival Planning Committee

Carla Kjellberg, private-practice attorney

Andrea Ledger, executive director, NARAL Pro-Choice Minnesota

Eric Magnuson, former Chief Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court; partner, Robins Kaplan

Batala-Ra McFarlane, publisher, McFarlane Media Interests and Insight News

David McKinney, staff attorney, ACLU of Minnesota

Carly Melin, executive director, Minnesota State Building and Construction Trades Council; former State Representative, District 6A

Veronica Mendez Moore, co-director, Centro de Trabajadores Unidos en la Lucha

Carin Mrotz, executive director, Jewish Community Action

Lyndsey Olson, Saint Paul City Attorney

Gail M. Olson, former Minnesota Deputy Attorney General; former general counsel, Minnesota State Colleges and University System

Lori Bergland Olson, farmer, Thief River Falls

Pete Orput, Washington County Attorney

Matt Pelikan, of counsel, Madel PA; 2018 candidate for Minnesota Attorney General

Ivan Parga, manager, Be the Change: Leadership on Purpose, Worthington

Rose Roach, executive director, Minnesota Nurses Association

Lee Sheehy, former Minnesota Chief Deputy Attorney General

Denise Specht, president, Education Minnesota

Luchelle Stevens, Gulf War veteran and community organizer, Golden Valley

Lola Velazquez-Aguilu, former Assistant U.S. Attorney; legal counsel, Medtronic

Jonathan Weinhagen, president and CEO, Minneapolis Regional Chamber of Commerce

Ted Winter, president, Rock & Nobles County Farmers Union; executive board member, Minnesota Farmers Union; former Minnesota State Representative, Districts 22A and 28A, former Minnesota House Majority Leader

Julio Zelaya, coordinator, Greater Minnesota Racial Justice Project, ACLU of Minnesota

# # #